Skip to content

You Don’t Know What You Don’t Know About Armed Defense

October 24, 2023

The news is enough to frighten anyone. I heard Pro-Palestinian protesters say they wanted to kill Jews. I expected that from extremists overseas but I did not expect it here in the USA. I take those threats seriously. I hope you do too. Unless you’ve studied armed defense for a while, there is a lot for you to learn in order to defend yourself and your family. I want to label the steppingstones ahead of you because you don’t know what you don’t know. I can tell you now that buying a gun won’t make you safe anymore than buying a violin makes you a musician. It takes study and practice.

People who study armed defense have better options and make better choices. Learning how to protect yourself and your family will greatly increase your odds of surviving a violent attack. The good news is that the harder your work the luckier you get. Armed amateurs are amazing for their speed and accuracy. I document their success every week.

You may be anxious right now, but please give yourself time. A self-defense program is a lot like a fitness class. You can’t read three books on armed defense over a weekend and make much of a difference. In contrast, you can study and practice a little every evening and you’ll change the odds in a significant way after only a month.

We asked some of the best self-defense instructors for their advice a few years ago during the riots. Here is a free video series we made from their answers.

Video series

Milestones-

  • How do I protect my family at home?
    • Let’s start with the easy solutions and go from there.
  • How do I bring a gun into my home?
    • Begin this conversation early.
  • How do I find the gun that fits me?
    • You try them on for size.
  • How do I learn to handle lethal tools safely?
    • The same way you’d learn to handle other dangerous equipment.
  • How do I learn to shoot accurately?
    • You take lessons and then practice on your own.
  • How do I store a firearm at home so it is both safe and effective?
    • Yes, you need a gun safe. Now where should you put it?
  • How do I find a good instructor?
    • You select a firearms instructor the same way you find any other professional service provider.
  • How do I carry a firearm in my home?
    • Having a lethal tool on your hip takes training and practice.
  • How do I carry a firearm in public?
    • You take a concealed carry class so you can safely and legally carry a firearm on the street.
  • How do I learn the legal use of lethal force?
    • Yep, we have classes for that too.
  • What is a home safety plan and where would I learn to make one?
    • It starts with a class on armed defense in the home, but it doesn’t end there.
  • Now that I can carry a firearm safely, how do I learn to fight with a gun?
    • Go beyond concealed carry.
  • What does the rest of my family need to know about personal safety?
    • You need to practice your defense plans because everyone is involved.
  • How do I learn about trauma care?
    • We are more likely to need and use a medical kit than a gun. Learn how.

Those are a series of simple questions, but the answers come in layers of complexity and proficiency. You might want a first answer to all of them before you pursue a better answer to any of them. Welcome to Armed America.

How can we help you?

~_~_

I gave you about 600 words. Please share them with a friend. RM

No comments yet

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.