Skip to content

More Bad Excuses for More Taxes

December 5, 2017

The proposed federal tax plan eliminates deductions for state and local taxes. I think that is a great idea, but I’ve heard some amazing rationalizations to the contrary.

So, I have to pay my state taxes, and I can’t deduct them.  That means the federal government is taxing me to pay for schools and roads.
You want schools and roads and police.  Pay for them just like anything else you want. Why is that hard or unfair?

But my state also does crazy stuff, like offer free education and subsidies to illegal immigrants.  I don’t want to pay for that. I want that to be deductible too.
I agree that is crazy, but I don’t want to pay for it either.  Why do you think that I should? You live in crazy land.  You fix your own state spending.

But the lack of deductions will harm high-tax states. That isn’t fair.
Why is it fair to ask other people to pay for all those government “services” you receive in high tax states? You’d have people moving to high tax states if the services were really such a great deal.  In fact, we see more and more people vote with their feet as they leave high-tax big-government states.

This will hurt poor people.
In fact, it is the rich and upper middle class who pay the majority of the taxes.

This is a hidden tax increase.
The tax plan also lowers the tax rates.

Well, it is still a tax increase.
Liberals are complaining that the tax rates are not high enough.  It seems you want high tax rates as long as someone else pays them.

Grumble mumble !!@%&!
Exactly!
~_~_

What have you heard? RM

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

