Skip to content

So, He Has a Gun?

February 20, 2016

The man across the restaurant has a gun.AX074_72C4_9

I look up.  Yeah, there it is carried on his hip.  I nod and go pack to checking my mail while we wait for our food to arrive.  I know some people with strange phobias and they are afraid of firearms.  The few people with phobias are unusual; not the 110 million gun owners in the US.  It is time for the rest of us to get over the novelty and drama of firearms ownership.

The guy has a gun.  So what?

Andrew

Today, good guys have guns.  Good guys have guns everywhere.  Good guys and gals have guns.. and nothing happens.  Most of the time you don’t even notice.  It isn’t newsworthy.  I want to change the attitude of the guy on the street towards firearms.  But, I don’t want to stop there.  It is time our legislators, prosecutors, law enforcement officials and for the media to come to terms with gun ownership as well.  We are not there yet.

We have a long way to go until guns are unremarkable.  I can ask my friend if he has a gun.  “Sure, I have a gun,” he says.  To me it is insignificant, but saying those same words is considered a threat if my friend says them inside a store.  Context is everything, and “I have a gun” has too many meanings today.

.

-“Yes, I have a gun” means her search is over when my neighbor wants to find firearms safety instruction for her teenagers.
-“Yes, that is my gun” means another new firearm to try for the friend who asks at the shooting range.
-“I have another gun” means we have to change our insurance policy when I tell my insurance agent.
-“I have a gun if we need it” means reassurance and safety as two women walk together across a dark parking lot late at night.
-“I have a gun” means it is time for him to leave when a thief hears those words as he climbs through a ground floor window.
-To the sheriff’s deputy being beaten by a thug, “Stop, I have a gun” means that good guys have finally arrived.
-I’m not sure what “Yes, officer, I have a firearm.” means to police officers these days.  Some officers recognize that concealed carry holders are vastly more law abiding than the average citizen.  Other officers see gun owners as an easy conviction given our contradictory gun laws.
-For many journalists, “He had a gun” means the story is over and written.  The reporter can play to the audience’s emotions.  The story becomes about the gun rather than the real life drama that just took place.madonna and guns

.
I expected us to be over our fear of guns by now.  Guns exist.  Guns are tools.  We have them.  Nothing happens.  Yawn.  It is time we stop taking our attitude toward firearms from the people who write TV dramas.

Don’t get your information from Hollywood.  Ask your neighbor instead.  Ask the hundred million gun owners if you really want to know about guns in the United States.  The facts are right next door.

Bad guys had guns for hundreds of years.  Lately we’re seeing a resurgence of firearms ownership by ordinary civilians.  It’s great that the good guys and gals have guns again.  Ask your neighbor if you want to know more.  They have had a gun for years.. and you had no idea.Kathy_Jackson_author

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

~_~_

Rob
Please rate, like and share this with a friend.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. KUETSA permalink
    February 20, 2016 9:41 pm

    Good article Rob. What I am noticing for the first time in my life, is that because of the RELENTLESS pressure for gun control from our government and media, a GROWING DISTRUST of the gun control agenda is being talked about by more and more Americans. I notice more and more people talking about the need to keep our rights, and more and more people expressing the feeling that: IT IS A GOOD THING WHEN A GOOD PERSON HAS A GUN!

    Liked by 1 person

    • February 21, 2016 7:43 am

      Good observation. We need a few million more people to have that realization and stop believing the media hype.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. c.J.Roberts permalink
    February 22, 2016 7:59 am

    He has a gun, “What kind?” is my usual question.
    “I’m glad to see you carrying a gun,” a lady told me. “I feel safer just knowing you’re here.” is what I’m hearing more and more.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. February 22, 2016 11:23 am

    I love your observations here! How we let gun ownership become so stigmatized is a study in our shifting values. Guns are tools for a specific job. Just like hammers drive nails and chainsaws quickly and efficiently cut wood. Sure, you could use an axe, but why would you when there is such efficient technology as a chainsaw available. To my ears, the fearful response to the gasp of “You own a GUN?!” is like someone gasping “You own a HAMMER?” De-stigmatizing gun ownership is all of our responsibility as ambassadors – we must be safe, courteous, responsible people who also just happen to own a tool called a gun. Nothing hard edged, nothing mysterious, and the gun doesn’t define our personality or our persona. Great article Rob! Thank you for making me think this morning! Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. February 22, 2016 6:18 pm

    “Is that a gun in your pocket, or are you just happy to see me?” — Mae West in her movie Sextette

    Mary Jane West (August 17, 1893 – November 22, 1980),[1] known as Mae West, was an American actress, playwright, screenwriter and sex symbol whose entertainment career spanned seven decades.

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks

  1. GUNS EXIST, THEY ARE TOOLS: So Why Are People Afraid of Them? - Girls Just Wanna Have Guns

Leave a Reply

