Skip to content

Buyer Beware on Consumer Electronics?

July 28, 2014

earbuds

I’m a late converter.  I buy the latest electronic devices.  That is why I want your help now.  I finally bought a fairly modern smart phone.  I bought a nice set of earbuds too, and now I find out that none of the earbuds last very long.  The Sony buds didn’t last two months.  Frys and Best Buy won’t honor a warranty for longer than a month.  Walmart only warranties their products for 2 weeks.  After that you get to arm wrestle with the manufacturer.  It seems that earbuds are almost disposable.   Is the best solution to buy cheap ones and simply have a spare pair on hand when the cheap earbuds die?

What do you do?

~_~_

Rob

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2014 4:03 pm

    What do I do? I don’t use earbuds. Problem solved.

    Like

  2. anotherdave permalink
    July 28, 2014 8:44 pm

    Spend a bit more for earbuds that will last. Mine last about a year and I find what kills them is getting sweaty in a pocket or tucked into my shirt when I’m not listening to something. Look at the ~$30 stuff from Fry’s. I’ve had good luck.

    Like

  3. July 29, 2014 3:15 pm

    For music, I have a crazy expensive pair made by a high end manufacturer. They are ten years old and still sound exquisite.

    For talky stuff, which I am listening to constantly while on the move my last set of Apple earbuds lasted a year. This pair… three months. I generally buy cheap ones just for vocal ones.

    I also reinforce all the wire joins with an extra layer of heat shrink… that’s why the last pair of Apple ones lasted so long.

    Like

Leave a Reply

