Skip to content

Firearms Instructors, Thank You for the Skills

May 11, 2014

This came from a rant I gave on the Polite Society podcast.  Thank you to all my teachers.

Defensive Handgun Class

I am a big advocate for firearms training.  Here is why. A fool fails to learn from his mistakes. In contrast, a wise man learns from his own mistakes and from other people’s mistakes as well.  Learning from others is the cheap and easy way to learn when it comes to armed self-defense.  Call it wholesale wisdom.  I’ve gone to many firearms instructors because I want to avoid expensive mistakes.

Think about it. Almost every “gun-safety rule” is the distilled wisdom taken from other people’s painful mistakes. Yes, you could teach yourself to shoot. If time and money and blood are no object, then go for it. I’ve chosen to get good instruction because my time, my money and my blood are precious. I don’t want to waste any of them.

Here is another reason to get training. No one makes mistakes on purpose.  The problem is we don’t know what we don’t know. A good firearms instructor sees what we’re doing and guides us from there.. correcting one bad mistake at a time. Together, you and your instructor fix the foundation before you advance to the finer points of shooting.

Finally, a good instructor knows how to safely push us to failure. One view of instruction says that training starts at failure, and anything less is simply exercise and review. That is a pretty aggressive way to learn.  I want guidance as I push to failure with a gun.  Don’t you?

I’ll end by saying “Thank you!” to all my instructors. I may not be the most talented student, but I am one of the most grateful.

long line~_~_
Rob
Read a similar article here- https://slowfacts.wordpress.com/2012/03/01/training-performance-and-professionalism/

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2014 1:32 pm

    So…when exactly are you going to get your instructor certification? Share the love…

    Like

  2. May 11, 2014 1:39 pm

    Hi, Dave.
    I’m signed up for next Saturday and Sunday. I have not had the application confirmed yet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

