Skip to content

Sometimes I Don’t Recognize Success- IDPA

December 15, 2013

I’ve been too busy to compete in shooting competitions.  I fixed that, but it wasn’t fun or pretty. Sure, I put in some dry practice over the last week, but I have not been to a range for months.  I have not competed with my handgun for an equally long time, though I tried a shotgun a few weeks ago. 

I shot an IDPA match on Saturday.  Everything happened so slowly that it felt like I was taking much too long for each action.  Odd, but my times were average.  My accuracy was good, but my perception was that each stage took  f-o-r-e-v-e-r.  I have no idea how I placed fifth out of 18. 

I thought I was slow as a melting glacier.meltingIcetechnologyI hope it wasn’t luck.

~_~_

Robert the slow

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dave permalink
    December 15, 2013 10:01 pm

    Fifth place? Nice job. Have you ever read “Mastery” by George Leonard? If not, I recommend it highly. It’s a great examination of how we learn, and how to enjoy the practice and being on the path. It’s centered around martial arts training, but it’s applicable to any challenging endeavor. (Besides, shooting IS a martial art!)

    Like

  2. December 16, 2013 8:41 am

    Thanks, Dave. I’ll look for “Mastery”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

