Skip to content

Repost- On School Shooters – The Huffington Post Doesn’t Want You To Read This

March 16, 2013

Peter Hoffmeister has a powerful post on Violent Video Games and teenage boys. It is important.   He also calls the media corrupt.  I emailed Senator Rockefeller to find out if he is still actively supporting a bill to study the effects of violent video imagery on young people.  We know the study’s answer.  We have conducted the experiment in our society.  Will another study reach a conclusion, or simply suggest that the issue needs more study?

~_~_

Reblogged from Peter Brown Hoffmeister:

After the Huffington Post signed me on as a blogger and allowed me to write op-ed pieces on any topic, for two years, ranging from books to sports to reviews to pop culture, something changed in our relationship. It was sudden.

I wrote this piece for Huff Po in late December, 2012.  For some reason, the editors wouldn’t print it. Like every other article I’d written, I submitted the piece on their backstage for signed bloggers, but nothing happened.

<snip>

But I have another idea beyond important political action. Something positive to think about:
Get kids outside. Take them out and let them wander around in the woods. Let them canoe across a lake. Let them backpack  through a mountain range. Give them a map and compass assignment. Give frustrated youth an opportunity to challenge themselves in the natural world.
Have you ever heard of a school shooter who’s hobbies are kayaking, rock climbing, and fly-fishing? If that seems absurd – and it does seem absurd to me – we might be onto something.  I don’t think that those hobbies can create a school shooter. There’s just something abut the natural world that defuses anger.
I know this because the outdoors helped saved my life. An outdoor diversion program for troubled teens started the process when I was sixteen. Camping and hiking and climbing helped me mature further as a nineteen and twenty year old. And now, as the director of a high school outdoor program, one of my student leaders said recently that “the outdoor program saves lives.”
That’s not me. That’s nature. Kids need the outdoors.
Help the young people. Get them outside.PBH

Read more… 1,604 more words

~_~_

Rob

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

