Skip to content

My Future as a Bad Writer

June 15, 2012

I will never be a great writer.  A great writer only gives his readers what they need to know.  A great writer only worries about how his readers feel.  He ruthlessly strips away everything else.

That sounds so simple.  It is fiendishly hard.  I can’t manipulate your thoughts and feelings enough to be a great writer.  I don’t know how to write like that even if I wanted to.  I’m not that skilled and not that detached, though I continue to try and improve.

I write to discover what I think and feel.  You see some of it here.  Sometime I underline the parts that move me in the hope that they become important to you.

I’m much too selfish to be a great writer.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 15, 2012 9:10 am

    You’re doing fine, Rob.

    Sometimes, I do a think called Gestalting, or Gestalt. I talk out loud as if I’m practicing a speech, and my family has learned to accept that I do this to develop ideas, and that I am – in fact – not gravely disabled. It works, because, as I gather my thoughts, they become clarified and coherent better than if I wrote them. More cogent. Then, I put them down on paper.

    Keep writing. Millions of writers have millions of methods and reasons of their own.

    You’re doing fine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

