Skip to content

Humility and Gratitude for my Culture

April 21, 2012

Sometime I imagine I sprang into the world fully grown.  It isn’t true.  I was not born like Athena.  Family and friends guided me to adulthood.

I was cared for and cared about before I was born.
I was caught by someone before I hit the floor. Thank you.
I was thought beautiful when I was wet behind the ears and ugly.
I was fed, clothed and held for months.. and for years.
I was raised by a family.
I was guided by family, neighbors and a church.
I was educated by an extended family, neighbors and school.
I was able to play hard with others.
I worked for many years before I held a paying job outside the home.
I was allowed to learn in school.
My employers allowed me to learn as I worked for them.
My wife and I held each other accountable.
I was loved despite my many imperfections.
My children taught me what it is to be human and flawed.
My children let me care for them and teach them.
My children learned to enjoy playing as hard as they could.
I learned to defend my family.
We guided our children’s intellectual, moral and spiritual growth.
My children see compassion and thrift every day.
I cared for my parents in their old age.  I held my mom as she died.

Only now do I begin to see my place in the world.  Every piece is irreplaceable.  Only now do I see the sensitive social mechanism that gave me a wonderful life.

What is my point besides gratitude?  Be careful when you propose changes to society.  Society is a complex living organism.  Few people understand how it works.  Social conservatives are to society what conservationists are to nature.

Don’t destroy what you can not create.

~_~_

Rob the Grateful

Please let me know if you have a picture to share with this post.

.

.

.

Photo of Bob Kahler and Bella

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

